William Ricketts Sanctuary is one of the most inspiring and tranquil places In the Dandenong Ranges. The sanctuary is set in amongst a stunning rain forest. Visitors have a chance to wander the grounds and to discover all of the amazing sculptures. These are carved into rocks and tree trunks that line the paths that run throughout the sanctuary. This is a place of quiet reflection and wonder. With over 90 different sculptures depicting the Aboriginal people engaging with the Earth.
About William Rickett
William Rickett (1898 – 1993) was an Australian potter and sculptor of the arts and crafts. He spent much of his life creating a sanctuary in the Dandenong Ranges. William found this to be a place for quiet reflection and to replenish the spirit. He was a firm believer that all Australians should adopt Aboriginal philosophies. Respecting the spirituality of the mother earth and all things in the natural world. Some of his works throughout the grounds depict his feelings on the devastation of white man. Their destruction of the natural environment.
From 1949 to 1960 William made frequent trips to Central Australia. Where he lived with the Pitjantjatjara and Arrernte Aboriginal people. Their traditions and culture helped to inspired many of his sculptures. Later in life, William Ricketts sold the sanctuary to the Victorian Government in the 1960’s who turned it into a public park.
William Ricketts continued to live at the sanctuary developing his art. Living there until his death in 1993.
William Ricketts Sanctuary
The Sanctuary is a must visit, and is one of the Dandenong Ranges most popular tourist attractions. Many travelers come from all across the globe to visit this Internationally renown Sanctuary.
1,402 Mount Dandenong Tourist Road,
William Ricketts Sanctuary is open daily from 10:00 am to 4:30 pm daily (except Christmas Day).
Entry is free
Disability and short-term drop-off parking is available directly in front of the sanctuary. The main carpark is located directly across the Mount Dandenong Tourist Road. Visitors need to take extreme caution when crossing the road.
Phone: (03) 9751 1300